Christmas weekend

So this weekend turned out to be a joyous one, I don’t know what I was expecting but each day was a joy.

Last Thursday we headed out after Allen finished work early and went to the beach in St Joseph, it was covered in snow and ice but was beautiful and incredibly fun to play on snowy sand. I also discovered my future husband was a sheepdog in a past life by the way he runs in circles on the sand. Odd. However walking around all cozy in the winter sunshine was wonderful.

Friday, we met with our wedding photographer to go over the day and I am very excited about his plans for the wedding and I’m so excited to get the pictures done. After that we hit the road and went up to Grand Rapids. We immediately went to get food, obviously, we went to BOB and had amazing sandwiches followed by a look around the art museum and a wander around. However due to the grey day I feel like we didn’t fully see GR but liked it just the same. We also got Starbucks on the way home, yes to Christmas
Peppermint Mochas.

Saturday was a day of food and drink, obviously, it was Christmas eve after all. We had breakfast at Nikki’s, a cafe down on Main Street, with pancakes, eggs, bacon and good coffee, what more does a girl need on a Saturday morning. We then went hoe, snuggled on the couch, watched NFL and Christmas movies until we decided we must move once more. So we went for a beer in a cute bar in St J, followed by very good curry with many leftovers brought home. For future Jen and Allen, don’t order the bread basket when just the 2 of you are eating.

Christmas was an early start from an excited Allen who was awake at 5am asking to open presents. After getting up at 6, opening presents, making a fry up breakfast once again, we organised our wedding invitations we headed off to Allen’s auntie’s for the day. It was a lovely day with lots of good food, lovely people, sledging, new puppies and generally Christmassy vibes. Christmas night, back home, I discovered that Dance Central for the Xbox is not my forte however Xbox bowling is my jam.

Finally, Monday brought with it unusually warm weather. We started our day at the movies with Rogue One, which I highly recommend, especially as today it has been announced that Carrie Fisher has died, I feel happy that this new movie has kept up the high standards that her legacy has left behind. We then wandered around St J, with hot chocolate and drove around the wonder of South West Michigan in the sunshine. Not a bad day all in all.

Weekends like this make me so happy to be where I am with the person I’m with, although  we’re far from family, I’m so glad we have the opportunity to be happy in this great place (the sunsets prove it’s greatness).

 

 

Leave a Reply

